Who’s who

This page explains who's who in BSBI: staff members and Hon. Officers. We have separate pages listing all the BSBI trustees and all the County Recorders. If you are unsure who to speak to, please use this Contact Form or email our Enquiry Desk.

Jane Houldsworth

Julia Hanmer is BSBI's Chief Executive. Contact her here and read an interview with Julia on our News & Views blog.

Kevin Walker

Kevin Walker is Head of Science. The BSBI has a remit to develop scientific uses of our data and provide services to academia and the conservation sector - Kevin's role is to plan the BSBI’s scientific activities and lead on undertaking contracts for external agencies.

Ian Denholm

Prof. Ian Denholm is Editor-in-Chief of British & Irish Botany, our scientific journal and its predecessor New Journal of Botanyhe is also County Recorder for Herts.

Gwynn Ellis

Gwynn Ellis is our Membership Secretary and was Editor-in-Chief of BSBI News from 1984 to 2017. Gwynn is the person to contact if you have a change of address or a page is missing from your mailing.

Julie Etherington

Julie Etherington is our Finance Manager, in charge of keeping everything in proper order.

Lynne Farrell, formerly the BSBI's Hon. General Secretary, was elected as BSBI President at the 2018 AGM and assumed the presidency in November 2019. Read an interview with Lynne on our News & Views blog and follow her on Twitter.

Steve Gater is the BSBI's Hon. General Secretary and also the Company Secretary. Contact Steve for society matters.

Sarah Pierce

Paul Green is BSBI's Ireland Officer - he is also BSBI County Recorder for Co. Wexford. Paul's role is to provide support for County Recorders in 40 Irish vice-counties and to promote botany and BSBI in Ireland.

Tom Humphrey

Tom Humphrey is our Database Officer - he created and manages the BSBI Database and Herbaria at Home.

Louise Marsh

Louise Marsh is BSBI's Communications Officer: she keeps the website updated, answers enquiries, promotes the society’s work to a wider audience, liaises with media contacts, edits the News & Views blog and online newsletter, and handles BSBI's social media platforms.

Jim McIntosh

Jim McIntosh is the BSBI Senior Country Officer - he encourages and supports BSBI recorders and members across Britain & Ireland with identification, learning and recording activities. As BSBI Scottish Officer he focuses on this in Scotland.

Chris Miles

Chris Miles is Chair of the BSBI Board of Trustees, County Recorder for Dumfriesshire and runs the Dumfriesshire Botany Group.

Johnathan Shanklin

Jonathan Shanklin is the BSBI's Hon. Field Meetings Secretary. He collates the field meetings in our annual events programme.

Pete Stroh

Pete Stroh is our England Officer and Scientific Officer, supporting County Recorders across England; he's involved with many aspects of our research and monitoring programme including Atlas 2020 and is lead author for the England Red List and for Grassland Plants of the British & Irish lowlands.

Johnathan Shanklin

Sarah Woods is BSBI's Fundraising Manager, assisting our supporters and actively seeking new resources to sustain and enrich BSBI's work. You can read an interview with Sarah on our News & Views blog. Contact Sarah if you have any questions about donating to BSBI.