The BSBI is a registered charity and a company limited by guarantee. Its overall governance is overseen by a Board of Trustees, supported by an advisory Council. BSBI also has a variety of committees who oversee activity on a specific topic, or for a particular area. BSBI members sit on the committees (see lists below) and we are very grateful for their volunteer contribution. Various staff members also attend these meetings to support committee activities or help with administration.

All material to support BSBI governance is stored in our password protected area which is accessible to all BSBI members, so they can view minutes of all meetings of BSBI Council, country and standing committees and the Board of Trustees. Members should head over to our members-only area (password required) for access details. Non-members can see our full accounts here, minutes from our Annual General Meeting here and can join BSBI here. Check out our special membership offer which runs until 31st December 2017!

Board of Trustees

  • Ian Denholm (Chair)
  • Paul Bisson
  • Chris Cheffings
  • Mick Crawley
  • John Faulkner
  • Alastair Fitter
  • Sandra Knapp
  • Christopher Miles
  • Anthony David Thomas
  • Sarah Whild
  • Delyth Williams (Hon. General Secretary)
  • Clive Lovatt (Company Secretary)

Records & Research Committee

  • Paul Smith (Chair)
  • Jo Parmenter (Secretary)
  • Chris Cheffings
  • Helena Crouch
  • Quentin Groom
  • Jeremy Ison
  • Simon Leach
  • Robert Northridge
  • Oliver Pescott
  • Richard Pryce
  • Martin Rand
  • Gerry Sharkey

Publications Committee

  • John Poland (Chair)
  • Louise Marsh (Secretary)
  • Ian Denholm (New Journal of Botany Editor-in-Chief)
  • John Edmondson (Book Reviews Editor)
  • Mike Porter (Plant Records Editor)
  • Chris Preston (Obituaries Editor)
  • Paul Ashton
  • Chris Boon
  • Arthur Chater
  • John Edgington
  • Trevor James
  • Paul O'Hara
  • Philip Oswald 


  • Chris Metherell (BSBI President & Chair)
  • Helena Crouch (Secretary)
  • Mary Dean
  • Ian Denholm (Editor-in-Chief, New Journal of Botany)
  • Mark Duffell
  • Martin Godfrey
  • Anne Haden
  • Trevor James 
  • Liz Lavery
  • Anne Middleton
  • Robert Northridge (Chair, Committee for Ireland)
  • Matt Parratt
  • Robin Payne (Chair, Committee for Scotland)
  • Oli Pescott
  • Jonathan Shanklin (Hon. Field Meetings Secretary)
  • John Swindells
  • Julian Woodman (Chair, Committee for Wales) 

Meetings & Communications Committee

Training & Education Committee

  • Paul Ashton (Chair)
  • Sue Townsend (Secretary)
  • Stephen Clarkson
  • Sarah Dalrymple
  • Mark Duffell
  • Brenda Harold
  • Chris Metherell
  • Jonathan Mitchley
  • Alex Prendergast
  • Sarah Whild 

Committee for Ireland

  • Robert Northridge (Chair)
  • Paula O’Meara (Secretary)
  • Rory Hodd (Treasurer)
  • John Conaghan (Irish Field Meetings Secretary)
  • Con Breen
  • Edwina Cole
  • Joanne Denyer
  • John Faulkner
  • Alexis Fitzgerald 
  • Mark McCorry
  • Gerry Sharkey
  • Ralph Sheppard 

Committee for Scotland

  • Ian Strachan (Chair)
  • Robin Payne (Secretary)
  • Angus Hannah (Field Meetings & News Editor)
  • Faith Anstey
  • Sandy Edwards
  • Natalie Harmsworth 
  • Liz Kungu
  • Lindsay Mackinlay
  • Aileen Meek
  • Alan Walker 

Committee for Wales

  • Julian Woodman (Chair)
  • Stephanie Tyler (Vice Chair)
  • Liz Dean (Honorary Treasurer)
  • Andy Jones (Meetings Secretary)
  • Kath Pryce (Minuting Secretary)
  • Elsa Wood (Honorary Secretary)
  • Colin Cheesman (Plantlife representative)
  • Richard Pryce (Joint Bulletin Editor)
  • Katherine Slade (Joint Bulletin Editor)
  • Sally Whyman (Joint Bulletin Editor)
  • Steve Chambers
  • John Crellin
  • Liz Dean
  • Stephen Evans
  • Sue Spencer
  • Kate Thorne
  • Delyth Williams
  • Ray Woods